Who We Are

About NIA_

National Innovation Agency

The National Innovation Agency (NIA) was established by the Parliamentary Act, No. 22 of 2019, with the aim of coordinating the Ministries, Institutions, and the Private sector for creating, improving, and sustaining a national innovation eco-system and providing support necessary for the relevant innovations from idea to market. This task was previously entrusted to the Coordinating Secretariat for Science, Technology, and Innovation (COSTI), which ceased its operations on 31 December 2021. The NIA took over, absorbing the human, physical and financial resources and other assets of COSTI, as per the Cabinet Decision taken on 08.03.2021 (CP No. 21/0388/308/021).

Accordingly, NIA became operational on 29.11.2021, with the Steering Council of NIA holding its first meeting.

The Agency operates under the purview of the Ministry of Education.

Our Steering Council

Mr E M S B Ekanayake

Secretary to the President


Dr Sankalpa Gamwarige


Appointed Member

Dr Anushka Wijesinha

Appointed Member

Eng. Capt. Udaya Dampage

Kothalawala Defence University

Appointed Member

Dr Ranga Kalansooriya

Appointed Member

Eng. Heminda Jayaweera

Appointed Member

Prof.Rohan Munasinghe

Head of the Department of Electronic and Telecommunication Engineering, University of Moratuwa


Mr N.P.N.M. Wickramasinghe

Additional Secretary, Development, Ministry of Technology

Appointed Member

Ms Randula de Silva

Appointed Member

Mr Rohitha Uduwawala

Additional Secretary, Development,Ministry of Higher Education

Appointed Member

Mr Thushara Vajra Perera

Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Sri Lanka Institute of Nanotechnology (SLINtec)

Appointed Member

Mr Cyril Suduwella Commissioner

Commissioner, Sri Lanka Inventors Commission

Appointed Member

Mrs. M.M.G.K. Meegahakotuwa

Director General, (Planning)

Skills Development, Vocational Education, Research & Innovation Division, Ministry of Education

Appointed Member

Mr H.C.D.L. Silva

Director General, Department of Treasury Operations Ministry of Finance

Mr E.A.Rathnaseela

Additional Director General, Department of National Planning, Ministry of Finance

Ms Samanthi Weerasinghe

Additional Secretary (Development and Innovation)

Mr P.L.Pathmakumara

Additional Secretary, Ministry of Higher Education (Administration)

Mr G.L.Gnanatheva

Director of Commerce, Department of Commerce

Mrs B. M.S.Bandara

Additional Secretary, (Development), Ministry of Trade

Mrs Geethanjali R. Ranawaka

DG, National Intellectual Property Office


Commissioner, SLIC

Prof. Ajith de Alwis

Chief innovation officer

Our Team

Dr Sachie Panawala


Vindya Wijesinghe


(Tech Transfer)

Thidasi Dahanayaka


(Science Technology & Eco)

Navodi Wickramasinghe


(Social & Services)

Ganesha Wijesinghe

Accountant (ACT.G)

Pooja Malavisooriya

Dep Director HR

Vagira Perera

Lasitha Kumara

Office Assistant

Shanika Abeyratne